I beat Super Mario Sunshine!

Yeah! After 64 I decided to re-visit Sunshine, to completion. I've played this game since I was about 7, and it's just fantastic. But I guess you all know that, this is a Mario board, it's probably quite positive to the Mario series. Anyway, I love it, the music re-using the Delfino motif in different ways (the first three worlds are all variations on it, structurally the same), the holiday atmosphere, FLUDD of course. Compared to 64, it has a noticeable emphasis on atmosphere and world-building rather than rushing through. I mean, 64 I beat in three days recently, the second time, and I came to realise a new fun of the game through getting really good at it. It's like, there's two ways of playing the games, in a spectrum from absolute beginner, like a child, where you're journeying out to discover this magical new world, full of weird creatures and characters, exploring to find stars. That's what the 3D games are fantastic at. And, at the other end, an expert's point of view, where you're playing the game just to beat it really fast, you know all the tricks and shortcuts. Mario games are great at allowing people to play at any level between those two, though they're particularly adept at allowing new players entry. Big open easy levels to start, then bottomless pits all the time near the end. So, Sunshine is more focused I think on the beginner-type player, or at least, someone interested in exploring and investigating rather than beating the game fast. It takes a lot longer than 64 in pacing, like how 100 Coins Shines have to be done individually, you can't collect two Shines Sprites in one go. The Blue Coins are all spread out, in several episodes in each world, that slows it down. FLUDD makes the game easier overall really, my favourite parts are the FLUDD-less secret levels, with that bopping music. Favourite world is probably Noki Bay, it's so calming and tranquil. Ricco Harbour is pretty rubbish though, I've always liked it less.